

Northeast Corridor Commission 10 G Street NE, Suite 360 Washington, DC 20002 (202) 847-0280 www.nec-commission.com **CONTACT** Beth Boehlert <u>eboehlert@nec-commission.com</u> 202-281-9121

Christy Kwan <u>ckwan@nec-commission.com</u> 202-809-5843

## For Immediate Release

## Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act Delivers Funding for Northeast Corridor Commission's Ambitious CONNECT NEC 2035 Plan

Washington, DC (November 6, 2021)—The House of Representatives approval of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) initiates a new era for the Northeast Corridor (NEC). Funding provided by the new law will support CONNECT NEC 2035 (C35), a 15-year plan for the most ambitious reinvestment program in the NEC's history. Released in July 2021 by the Northeast Corridor Commission, C35 represents a new way of planning—a multi-agency, multi-year shared action plan guided by a long-term vision. The state governments of the Northeast, the federal government, eight commuter rail agencies, and Amtrak together developed a detailed and efficient sequencing of investments covering 150 infrastructure projects, as well as an extensive state-of-good-repair program that spans the corridor. Implementing C35 will result in a modern and resilient railroad with safer, more reliable, and more frequent service; connections to new markets; and reduced travel times between communities.

"The Bipartisan Infrastructure Deal is a transformational investment in America's future that will repair and replace aging infrastructure and advance the next generation of passenger rail. The Northeast Corridor is vital to the regional and national economy. We look forward to working together with Amtrak, States, the NEC Commission and others to advance projects that will increase safety, efficiency, and reliability along the corridor," said **Amit Bose, Deputy Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration and NEC Commission co-chair**.

"The Northeast Corridor Commission and its members are committed to working with our partners at the U.S. Department of Transportation to be good stewards of these new dollars to make much-needed investments in the NEC," said **Kevin S. Corbett, NJ TRANSIT President & CEO and NEC Commission co-chair**. "C35 will improve rail service from Washington D.C. to Boston by replacing aging assets, adding rail capacity, and enhancing the customer experience for the NEC's nearly 800,000 daily riders."

"The enactment of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act means decades of deferred NEC investments can now move forward as we begin to make the NEC Commission's ambitious C35 vision a reality," said **Amtrak President Stephen Gardner**. "This historic funding commitment will mean better, more reliable service for train travelers throughout the Northeast, new jobs, and economic growth and development across the region."

"This historic infrastructure bill will allow our members to rebuild and modernize the Northeast Corridor to provide better, faster, more frequent, and more reliable service to the hundreds of thousands of commuters and intercity travelers who depend on it every day," said **Mitch Warren, Executive Director of the Northeast Corridor Commission**. The CONNECT NEC 2035 plan is available online at <u>www.nec-commission.com/connect-nec-</u>2035/.

## About the Northeast Corridor Commission

The Northeast Corridor Commission was established by Congress in 2008 (49 U.S.C. § 24905) to develop coordinated strategies to improve the Northeast's core rail network in recognition of the inherent challenges of planning, financing, and implementing major infrastructure improvements that cross multiple jurisdictions. The expectation is that by coming together to take collective responsibility for the NEC, Commission member agencies will achieve a level of success that far exceeds the potential reach of any individual organization.

The Commission is composed of one member from each of the NEC states (Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Maryland) and the District of Columbia; four members from Amtrak; and five members from the U.S. Department of Transportation. The Commission also includes non-voting representatives from freight railroads, states with connecting corridors, and commuter operators.

###